Ten From 17th TCS Receive 12 Medals

Ten airmen of the 17th Troop Carrier Squadron here were decorated in recognition of their outstanding performance of duty. The awards which included seven Air Medals, four Air Force Commendation Medals and a Joint Service Commendation Medal, were presented during officers call for the 21st Composite Wing at the Chugach Theater. Col. Donald H. Lynch, wing commander, made the presentation.

The Air Medal and the Air Force Commendation Medal were presented to Captain Densel K. Acheson and SSgt. Flem D. Hatcher. The men were recognized for their participation in "Operation Blue Ice" and for successfully paradropping aviation gas under marginal flying conditions to a downed H-21 helicopter in need of fuel.
IN RECOGNITION OF -Among the ten members of the 17th Troop Carrier Squadron who were decorated Friday for outstanding performance of duty were, from left, Staff Sergeants Flem D. Hacker, Paul R. Chenvert and Stephen W. Zebruck.
For meritorious service while assigned to the 1095th Support Squadron, Bossier AFB, La., from April 1962 to December 1965, SSgt. Stephen Zebruck was decorated with the Joint Service Commendation Medal.

The First Oak Leaf Cluster to the Air Force Commendation Medal was presented to Maj. Igor P. Prokofieff for his actions while assigned to Headquarters, Eighth Air Force.
Resourcefulness and airmanship earned for Capt. Richard L. Tinney the Air Force Commendation Medal. His handling of an inflight emergency over Southcentral Alaska in June saved his aircraft and the lives of his 24 passengers.

Sourdough Sentinel circa 1966
Elmendorf AFB, Alaska

Article courtesy of Richard (Firebird Pilot) and Kaye Tinney